Study at UAlberta

Graduate Programs - FAQ

The University of Alberta offers 170 graduate programs in 300 research areas, and ranks #2 in Canada for external research funding.

Our graduate degrees are delivered through 70+ departments across campus in our 18 faculties.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a graduate degree?

PhD and Master's degrees are considered graduate degrees at UAlberta and applicants must have already earned an undergraduate (bachelor’s) degree.

If you do not have a postsecondary degree, such as a Bachelor's degree, you may explore our undergraduate programs.

What types of degrees are offered?

UAlberta offers two types of Master’s degrees:

  • Thesis-based: Students work under a supervisor to conduct research in a chosen area that is submitted in the form of a thesis, which is then reviewed and evaluated by an examining committee.
  • Course-based: Students complete required coursework and a final capping exercise such as a research project and final report.

Doctoral (PhD) degrees at UAlberta are thesis-based and require students to carry out high-quality research in a particular field of study. Doctoral students must complete a candidacy exam, write a thesis and defend their thesis at a final oral examination.

For details, search our graduate programs.

How long are graduate degrees?

Master's programs generally take one to three years of full-time study. Doctoral programs involve four to six years of full-time study.

What are the admission requirements?

Admission requirements and application procedures vary by program. Your first step is to identify a graduate program and then contact the appropriate department. For details, search our graduate programs.